Established in 1898

Yarra Yarra Golf Club

Yarra Yarra is one of the eight Melbourne Sandbelt golf courses, which collectively possess a worldwide reputation among golfers as being on the ‘must play’ list. The course is accompanied by a driving range, putting green and short-game area that will satisfy even the most serious golfers.

The Spanish Mission-inspired Clubhouse features vast terraces, classic internal architecture and beautifully appointed meeting and function rooms… all within thirty minutes of Melbourne’s CBD.

Yarra Yarra is a vibrant club with a passion for golf and its history.

Our Story


Like its namesake river which divides the city of Melbourne Yarra Yarra Golf Club arrived at its present location in a roundabout way.

The Club’s founders first played on a rough, 9 hole course at Eaglemont in 1898, on the same terrain that inspired Arthur Streeton’s famous painting Golden Summers. Eaglemont Golf Club, as it was originally known, was also avant garde in that male and female members enjoyed equal rights from the outset.
The Club only rented the Eaglemont land and by about 1910 it decided to purchase land near the Rosanna railway station. It was renamed the Yarra Yarra Golf Club and opened for play in 1911. By the mid 1920’s a move to the sandbelt was envisaged as the loss of players to Clubs on better land was becoming critical to the Club’s survival. In February 1927 land was purchased at East Bentleigh, well south of the Yarra River and in the heart of the famous Melbourne Sandbelt.

Centenary Year


Centenary Year

1998 marked the centenary of the Yarra Yarra Golf Club, since its inception as the Eaglemont Golf Club in 1898. It also was 70 years since the current course was established at Bentleigh East.
The centenary was celebrated with a number of functions during the year and the publication of the book, “From Eyrie to Eagles”, documenting the history of the club’s first 100 years.


Australia Amateur Championships.
Tom Doak appointed to restore Alex Russel golf course.

Snapshots in Time